No Love (But What We’re Made Of)

I know I’m not the “baddest bitch” best rapper ever. But with all that’s been going on in the world, I was inspired to write a song. And for some reason, it came out best in this format. I’m usually more of a singer/songwriter type, but my 11-year-old brother and I sat down one day, and it just came to us in a moment of clarity. It means a lot to me, and I hope the message overshadows my sub-par rap skills. Thank you for listening!

Lyrics:

Yo I make no mistakes but my heart aches cuz this world is full of pain
And everyone is done, nothing is fun
We’re just existing, the world’s twisting, this life’s vicious
It’s tearing us apart at the dreams, pulling all the strings from our seams
That’s why we gotta take a stand, man up, stand up and show them what we’re made of.
I’m falling again, every time I wonder if it’s pretend
Cuz no one feels things or genuinely makes love
You keep crying when we gonna make up
But we haven’t even started to break up
You just play out these roles, comfortable, cold
Substitute reality with what you really think it means
That’s why we gotta take a stand, man up, stand up, and show them what is real love.

No love but what we’re made of

Bombs crashing, teeth gnashin, everybody standin’ with France but we shouldn’t have to
Be scared, caught unawares, nobody cares we seeing fire reflecting in our tears
Peacelessness is bashing through our heads
We filled with dread, we can’t pretend there’s a reason at all so many dead
Paranoia is gonna destroy us, tolerance shouldn’t even annoy us

Can you feel the love tonight? But we can’t even feel the like. Can you feel the love tonight?

Hate roams rampant on every street
Republicans and democrats need defeat
But the only thing anyone is going to beat
Is our ability to stay free, my ability to be me
Your ability to see all the possibilities, livin’ in tranquility
So take a knee, say a prayer, permeate love, show them motherfuckas what you made of

Leave a comment